Acadia Blues: Dawn at Sand Beach, Acadia National Park

I’m still in the process of sifting through images from this Autumn’s trip to Acadia National Park in Maine.  The trip was great and highly productive.  This particular shot is from the second morning of the trip at Sand Beach, the largest sand beach this far north, or should I say down east in Maine.  I had scouted the spot the day before looking for potential compositions and oddly enough was planning to shoot something else entirely, not even including the ocean view.  I arrived 45 minutes before the sun came up to give myself plenty of time to get into position and get a spot, this area can be quite busy this time of year.  I also like to arrive well before sunrise because, as is often the case  the best color can come 30 minutes before the sun comes up.

acadia national park photography maine

© Kurt Budliger Photography

That’s exactly what happened on this particular morning.  In fact, I liked the subtle color in the sky so much that I abandoned (it’s important to be flexible in your plan) my original shot.  Instead I decided to focus my composition on this lovely cloud catching the early light and the reflected color in the wet sand on the beach.  I wanted to emphasize these elements so I purposefully let the distant landform got into silhouette thus simplifying the composition further.  Once I had the composition set I shot a number of frames as the waves would roll back off the beach, each time hoping for a nice pattern to emerge.  I often find that my favorite patterns come as the waves are going out instead of in.  I varied my exposure times after reviewing the images on the camera’s LCD.  If the shutter speed was too long the water masked the reflection on the sand and if it was too short there was too much texture which reduced the sense of flow or motion in the surf.  I also like the subtle arc in the foreground sand formed by the reflected highlights.  It helps to drawn the eye back into the image and repeats the shape of the cloud above.

~ by kurtbudliger on November 1, 2010.

One Response to “Acadia Blues: Dawn at Sand Beach, Acadia National Park”

  1. Wonderful dawn, great location to enjoy the wonders of life and to meditate there. Brilliant shot, I love it!

Leave a Reply

 
