A Vermont Wedding at the Farm on Mad River

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

I was hoping to have my summer wedding round ups completed by now, but no such luck.  I better get on it if I’m going to finish before this summer season begins.

If you are interested in an outdoor wedding in the Green Mountain state of Vermont I can’t think of a better location than the Farm on Mad River in Waitsfield.  It is hands down one of the most picturesque locations I’ve ever had the privilege to shoot.  The grounds are exceptionally beautiful, lots of stone walls, terraced patios and the entire farm is located on one of the prettiest stretches of the Mad River I’ve seen.

James and Krystina were a super fun couple to work with and their friends and families made capturing some truly memorable moments an absolute pleasure.  Everyone was really laid back and down to earth, as well as fun and genuinely excited to be celebrating with the James and Krystina.  But the what made this wedding experience really special for me was the fact that I got to shoot it with a great friend.  My friend Scott was instrumental in mentoring me some 15 years ago when I first got interested in photography, then exclusively landscapes and nature.  He is one of the most talented nature photographers I know and was extremely patient in tutoring me along the way.  He mentioned he’d like to experience shooting a wedding, something he’d never done before.  We picked a weekend for him to visit that coincided with a wedding I was shooting.  Upon his arrival I handed him my extra camera body, provided some quick tips (the student becomes the teacher) and away he went.

It was awesome to experience his enthusiasm and see the entire process with fresh eyes, which only served to reinforce my own appreciation for being able to pursue photography professionally and for the wonderful clients I get to work with on a regular basis.  Here are a handful of my favorites from the day, some of which are a little unconventional, which of course is why I love them.  It’s also worth noting that one of the images is from my friend Scott.

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Scott Graber

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

~ by kurtbudliger on January 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “A Vermont Wedding at the Farm on Mad River”

  1. I’m trying to remember why I didn’t have you photograph my wedding. You were probably already booked. Booooo for me! Maybe when we have a renew the vows ceremony on a deserted island far, far away, I’ll hire you (if I can afford you)!

  2. Thanks Cassie you are too kind. I love the idea of the deserted island, preferably a warm one 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
