Best Wedding Photos of 2009

Well finally I’m getting around to wrapping up my “best of 2009” series.  If you didn’t get a chance to see the first 3 posts in the series please do take some time to check those out as well.  The themes were landscape, lifestyle/adventure, portrait and finally weddings.  I think I saved weddings for the end because of my natural propensity toward indecision.  I’ve been limiting myself to my 5 favorites and I knew this one would be the hardest.  Over the course of a year I literally shoot thousands of wedding images so picking just 5 as my favorites has been really hard, it’s like asking a parent to choose their favorite child.

My approach to wedding photography is photojournalistic or documentary.  I strive to capture authentic moments, as they happen in the most artful way possible.  I don’t want to orchestrate events or moments purely for a photo op, in fact I think it’s cheesy and disingenuous but that’s a topic for another post.  I love these particular images for a couple of reasons.  First, with the exception of one, all of the images were made while the subjects were camera unaware, meaning they weren’t performing or their behavior was unaffected by my presence.  Second, they all illustrate the importance of great light and good composition when making an image.  And finally they are all significant story telling images, which is the essence of good wedding photojournalism.

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont wedding photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

~ by kurtbudliger on January 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
