Best Portraits of 2009

As a Vermont photographer I’m primarily known as a wedding photo-journalist and landscape photographer.  I do however shoot a variety of portraits throughout the year.  My philosophy for shooting portraits is very similar to my approach to wedding photography; create an artistic shot with great light that tells a story.  In the case of portraits the story I strive to tell is one that captures the subject’s personality, mood or present place in life.  When I shoot portraits I strive to keep them light, fun and relaxed.  I focus primarily on using available light and try to capture the subject in a natural way, less contrived than traditional portraiture.  When shooting portraits of kids I like to schedule the session at their home or favorite playground so they feel comfortable and have their stuff around.  I allow them to play, move around, crawl in the mud, splash in puddles, get dirty, anything that makes them happy.

So here are my favorite 5 portraits from 2009, thanks for taking the time to look.  This is the third installment of a 4 part series wrapping up my favorite images from 2009, so make sure to scroll down the page and check out the landscapes and lifestyle/adventure shots.  The final installment will focus on wedding photo-journalism.

Vermont kid portraits

© Kurt Budliger Photography

Vermont kid portraits

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont portrait

© Kurt Budliger Photography

portrait of woman

© Kurt Budliger Photography

vermont kid portraits

© Kurt Budliger Photography

~ by kurtbudliger on January 7, 2010.

One Response to “Best Portraits of 2009”

  1. Kurt–I love your photographs. I sometimes log on just to look at them. They give a wonderful view of life.

    Happy birthday!! Aunt Mary

Leave a Reply

 
