Andrew and Annette

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

Most of the weddings I shoot in any given season are primarily Vermont weddings, however I spend a fair amount time traveling to shoot weddings throughout New England and New York.  This past summer I had the pleasure of photographing my old college roommate’s wedding in our hometown.  We had lost track of one another after college until last winter when a mutual college friend found Andrew through facebook.  Their conversation eventually led to Andrew learning of my whereabouts and after our subsequent reconnection he decided I should photograph his upcoming wedding.  The wedding was a relaxed and quaint outdoor affair at Andrew’s parents home outside Albany, NY.   They live in great spot, secluded and quiet with lots of trees and space to roam.

It’s always tough to mix business and pleasure, especially when a close friend or family member is entrusting you with their wedding photography.   I arrived early and had a chance to quickly catch up with Andrew and then it was down to business.  I used to spend a lot of time the night before a wedding pre-visualizing and planning the shots I was going to make, usually causing myself a lot of stress.  Now, I like to approach each of the weddings I shoot with an open mind, a clear mind.  I find this allows me to really see what’s happening here and now, at this wedding, rather than trying to find or manufacture images that match those of my pre-conception.

As a wedding photo-journalist I approach weddings with the goal of telling the couple’s wedding story as artistically and authentically as possible.  There are usually always some posed family and bridal party shots but the remainder of the time I prefer to be a fly on the wall, observing, anticipating and then when all the elements come together making images that communicate the emotion and ambiance of the day.

Here are some of my favorites from Andrew and Annette’s wedding.  At the end of the day while I’m editing, I’m almost always drawn to the images that happen when the subjects are unaware of my presence.  These images were chosen for their photo-journalistic, camera unaware quality, with the exception of one or two 🙂

Vermont Wedding Photography

The Justice surfing the 3G © Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

 

Vermont Wedding Photography

© Kurt Budliger Photography

~ by kurtbudliger on November 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
