This Time I Mean It…

Okay so add me to the list of Johnny come latelys to the blogosphere.  I’m also guilty of starting this blog over a year ago, putting up two posts and then conveniently letting it slip my mind to the point of sheer avoidance.  What can I say, I’m a slacker when it comes to writing and/or keeping a journal, it just feels too much like work.

In light of that I’ve decided to re-dedicate myself to this effort as I believe it’s a worthwhile pursuit and will push me to grow as a photographer as well as writer.  However, I’m going to keep this blog as light and fun as possible.  My posts will focus primarily on featuring new images and the stories behind their creation.

For those of you new to my work I’m somewhat of a generalist, I make my living as a wedding photojournalist, digital photography teacher and nature/landscape photographer in northern Vermont.  The content of the posts will be dictated by the focus of my recent shooting, whether it be my favorite images from a wedding, portrait session or photo trip to some far flung land.  I’ll also use the blog to convey recent news or announce planned workshops and classes.  I’ll also provide links to other photography resources that I find particularly useful.  Lastly, what self-respecting photography teacher wouldn’t take an opportunity like this to provide useful tips and strategies for improving one’s images, so you’ll find that here as well.

A little news I’m pretty proud of: the below image was chosen as the October photo of the month and graces the splash page over at Nature Photographers Online Magazine.  This is a great organization and home to some of the best nature photography and photographers around today.  There is a fantastic and mutually supportive critique forum where you can post and comment on various images from around the world.  It’s a phenomenal learning environment so check it out here,  www.naturephotographers.net

Friend and fellow photographer Jay Ericson chooses a fly late in the day on the upper Connecticut River in northern New Hampshire.

Friend and fellow photographer Jay Ericson chooses a fly late in the day on the upper Connecticut River in northern New Hampshire.

This shot was pre-visualized earlier in the day.  I knew the light would be nice and soft at this location about the time we were heading back up river toward the truck.  I had Jay stand in the riffle and composed so he would be balanced on the left by the three tree trunks on the bank.  The exposure was pretty straight forward, evaluative metering and a -1/3 of exposure compensation to render the water darker than medium toned.  The raw file was processed in Lightroom 2 and I did some selective contrast and dodging/burning in Photoshop.  The trickiest part was getting Jay to stand very still for the 1+ second exposure.

~ by kurtbudliger on October 19, 2009.

One Response to “This Time I Mean It…”

  1. Way to go, Kurt! I look forward to reading your posts and seeing your pics.

Leave a Reply

 
